The GSEF2016 is being organized by a vast network of partners in Québec and around the world who are supporting the Coordinating Committee, helping to develop the program, and promoting it in their own areas.

“Société pour l’organisation du GSEF2016”

Founded by the Forum’s co-organizers to facilitate the collaboration of both parties and ensure the success of the event, this association is run by representatives of structures that support the development of the social economy and the city of Montréal and are committed to the Forum’s success.  Its board of directors is responsible for validating the general orientations of GSEF2016 and ensuring the sound management of the event.

Members of the Board of Directors

  • Jacques Ménard, President, BMO Financial Group
  • Léopold Beaulieu, CEO, Fondaction
  • Mario Fortin, CEO, Cinéma Beaubien
  • Danielle Laberge, Chair of the Board of Directors, United Way Montréal
  • Alan Shepard, Rector and Vice-Chancellor, Concordia University

Honorary Committee

Committee members are local governments from every continent and their respective SSE partner networks, as well as the principal international networks, organizations, and agencies engaged in the SSE and the development of cities around the world.   Members commit to ensuring the success of the GSEF2016 by being among the organizations highlighted by the Coordinating Committee, sharing the best practices taking place in their communities, disseminating information about the Forum to their networks, and sending representatives to the Forum in September 2016.

For the organizers of the Forum, the diversity of partners in this committee is of key importance. It is composed of the following types of partners:

Territorial Partners

Partners representing a local government and the SSE organizations of a given territory. It may include different levels of local government (city, metropolitan region) and include other local stakeholders, such as universities, depending on the case.

Confirmed members:

  • Ville de Montréal and the Chantier de l’économie sociale
  • Seoul Metropolitan Government and Seoul Social Economy Network
  • City of Arrasate/Mondragón and EGES-Euskal Gizarte Ekonomiaren Sarea/Red Vasca de Economía Social
  • City of Bamako and RENAPESS MALI
  • City of  Turin
  • City of Bilbao
  • City of Dakar
  • City of Vancouver
  • Communauté urbaine de Yaoundé
  • City of Madrid
  • City of Rio de Janeiro
  • City of Barcelona

International Organizations

Stakeholders committed to the development of cities and/or support for the SSE.

Confirmed members:

  • United Nations Research Institute for Social Development (UNRISD)
  • International Labour Organisation (ILO)
  • Organisation internationale de la Francophonie (OIF)
  • LEED Program – The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)
  • European Economic and Social Committee (EESC)

International Networks of Local Governments

Networks that are exemplary for their recognition of the SSE as a path to local development

Confirmed members:

  • Le Réseau européen des villes et régions de l’économie sociale (REVES)
  • Réseau des collectivités Territoriales pour une Economie Solidaire (RTES)
  •  Global Fund for Cities Development (FMDV)
  • Union des municipalités du Québec (UMQ)
  • ICLEI Local Governments for sustainability

National and International SSE Networks

Confirmed members:

  • Intercontinental Network for the Promotion of Social Solidarity Economy (RIPESS)
  • Social Economy Europe (SEE)
  • La Red de redes de economía alternativa y solidaria (REAS)
  • Organización de entidades mutuales de las Américas (ODEMA)
  • Foro brasileiro de la economia solidaria (FBES)
  • Movimiento de Economía Social y Solidaria del Ecuador (MESSE)
  • New Economy Coalition (NEC)
  • New Economics Foundation (NEF)
  • Conseil québécois de la coopération et de la mutualité (CQCM)
  • Réseau Africain de l’Economie Sociale et Solidaire (RAESS)
  • Partenariat France-Afrique pour le co-développement (PFAC)
  • Asian Solidarity Economy Council (ASEC)
  • Rencontres du Mont-Blanc (RMB)
  • Union Africaine de la Mutualité
  • United Cities and Local Governments (UCLG)

Orientation council

The Orientation Council advises the Coordinating Committee on all aspects regarding GSEF2016, including mobilization, programming, funding, and communications. It is made up of individuals and representatives of organizations who, without being directly involved in organizing the event, wish to contribute their expertise and networks to ensure its relevance and success.

Members of the Orientation Council

  • Joseba Bilbao – Mondragon – LKS
  • Jacques Carrière – Federation of Canadian Municipalities (FCM)
  • Jacques Charest – Cap Finance
  • Coralie Deny – Conseil régional de l’environnement de Montréal
  • Roberto DiMeglio – International Labour Organization (ILO)
  • Gorka Espiau – Young Foundation
  • Nicolina Farella – McConnell Foundation
  • Pascal van Griethuysen – United Nations Research Institute for Social Development (UNRISD)
  • Émilien Gruet – Territoires innovants en économie sociale et solidaire (TIESS)
  • Abderrahim Izirri-  Coopérative de développement régional de Montréal-Laval (CDRML)
  • Anne-Marie Jean – Culture Montréal
  • Johanne Lavoie – Bureau de l’économie sociale, Ville de Montréal
  • François L’Heureux – Fonds de solidarité de la FTQ
  • Luigi Martignetti – REVES
  • Eva Mascolo-Fortin RIPESS
  • Margie Mendell – Karl Polanyi Institute (Concordia University)
  • Nancy Neamtan – Chantier de l’économie sociale
  • Antonella Noya – Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD)
  • Luc Rabouin – Caisse d’économie solidaire Desjardins
  • Simon Emmanuel Roux – Regroupement Techno Social/ Tech for Good Network
  • Anne Marie Saulnier – Espace québécois de concertation sur les pratiques d’approvisionnement responsable (ECPAR)
  • Mike Toye – Canadian Community Economic Development Network (CCEDNet)
  • Sonia Vaillancourt – International Social Tourism Organisation (ISTO)
  • Milder Villegas –  International Association of Investors in the Social Economy (INAISE)

Coordonating Committee

The Coordinating Committee was set up by the co-organizers of the Forum. It is composed of representatives of the City of Montréal and the Chantier de l’économie sociale and the staff of the non-profit group that was created to organize the Forum. It is the primary organizing body of the event.

Members of the Coordinating Committee

  • Monique Vallée (elected official, City of Montréal) co-chair
  • Marie-Josée Reid (City of Montréal)
  • Tim Fournier (City of Montréal)
  • Serge Guérin (City of Montréal)
  • Johanne Lavoie (City of Montréal)
  • Marie-Claude Therrien (City of Montréal)
  • Nancy Neamtan (Chantier de l’économie sociale) co-chair
  • Laura Espiau (Chantier de l’économie sociale)
  • Béatrice Alain (GSEF2016)
  • Mireille Pelchat (GSEF2016)